Mahlie J.

Identity Verification
Online Training
Police Check
Administering medication
Fenced garden

Experienced foster-dog parent and pug mum

7 reviews
Response rate: 100%
Last seen 2 months ago
About Mahlie
Hi, we are Mahlie and Skylar (the pug). We live in Balmain East, right on the harbour and we love animals! Mahlie is a freelance designer and artist and she works from home (or the park or a cafe or a beach, wherever!) This year she is also completing a Masters Degree, so Wednesdays she is gone for up to 6 hours. All other days, the dogs who spend time with us are rarely left alone for long periods of time. We also routinely have 2 puppies (one pug and one frenchie) in our care during the week, so all pups with us must be SAFE with puppies!
Mahlie grew up with cats, dogs, ferrets, chickens and ducks and also watched her grandfather be a native bird rehabilitation specialist with WIRES.

Together, we have had lots of experience as a foster and rescue team for dogs with local rescue organisations. We have had a LOT of experience with older dogs and dogs with health issues, as well as those poor babies who have experienced abuse and neglect. We have experience training rescue dogs to become ready for adoption and can help with basic training and behaviour.
Skylar is used to having other dogs in and out of our place and is very flexible and confident, she loves teaching new dogs how to behave well. She also loves cats and will not hurt any animal that is under my care.
We often dog-sit my previous fosters when their mums and dads go away and its amazing to see how they have grown into the dog they deserve to be.
Our apartment in Balmain is ground floor in a building filled with animals and kind peaceful people and a big fenced wrap-around backyard at the back. It's also very cool, and rarely gets above 25c inside!

Mahlie has a fine art photography degree in her back pocket and although its not her main job anymore, you can be sure you'll be getting some happy snaps of our time with your furbaby. Mahlie is ALWAYS taking photos, you can see some yourself and check up on us, when you follow Skylar's life via instagram to check out our daily shenanigans to get some insight into our life! @skylarpugpants

We're super excited to welcome you and your babies into our furfamily.

A few things to recap:

- We have puppies regularly in our care, so all dogs must be puppy friendly and safe.
- We do not have a "destructive dog friendly" house. There are things around that dogs with destructive behaviours can destroy so let us know about that
- All dogs must be toilet trained and desexed in our care
- Preferable if dogs are trained to be off-leash as this is better for everyone!
- Out of the house Wednesday

Children at home
Owns pets
Police Check
Pets Accepted
Small Dog
Medium Dog
Large Dog
Giant Dog
Rabbit /
Guinea Pig
Mahlie's Home
Type: Apartment
Large backyard
Fenced backyard
Pets sleep indoors
Pets sleep outdoors
Cancellation: Flexible
A full refund will be offered to Pet Owners if they cancel up until the day before the booking at 12 noon. After which Pet Owners will be charged 50% of the total booking value.
Accepts last-minute bookings
Accepts long-term bookings
Residential Pets
6 years old
Good with Children
Good with Dogs
Good with Cats
Good with Children
Good with Dogs
Good with Cats
Reviews & Testimonials
repeat2 repeat stays
7 reviews
Peter T.
Pet Hosting - Apr 25, 2019
Well Duke was totally spoikt, Mahlie was fantastic.
Jacqui D.
Pet Hosting - Apr 23, 2019
We loved seeing pics of our cavoodle having a great time with Mahlie's gorgeous Pug, Skylar. Would absolutely recommend Mahlie as a fabulous dog-sitter! Thanks so much.
Renee S.
Pet Hosting - Dec 30, 2018
Mahlie and her gorgeous pug, Sklar, were so wonderful with our cavoodles. We got regular updates and pictures of our boys having such a fun time. Thank you Mahlie and Skylar
Milly B.
House Visiting - Dec 14, 2018
We love Mahlie
Service & Rates
Overnight Pet Services
Pet Hosting
At Sitter's Home
$ 43 / night
Pet Sitting
At Pet's Home
not offered
Daytime Pet Services
Pet Day Care
$ 33 / day
House Visiting
$ 27 / visit
Dog Walking
$ 27 / walk
Dog Grooming
not offered
Dog Training
$ 38 / session
Pick Up - Drop Off
$ 10 / journey
Not Available