Lara

Lara M.

Identity Verification
Online Training

Home away from home, pets treated like our own

0 repeat guests
2 reviews
Accepts Repeat Weekly Bookings for:
House Visiting, Pet Day Care
Response rate: 100%
Last seen 2 weeks ago
About Lara
There's nothing more stressful than trying to book a trip away while worrying about where your pets are going to stay. We know the feeling.

Our family might be the perfect fit for your pets. We are a young family of four in Blackwood - two children (7 and 4 years). We have one beautiful elderly Aussie Terrier Cross (14 years) who is desexed and fully vaccinated, friendly, energetic, loves treaties, daily walkies and snoring on the lounge. We also have tanks of fish, but no other animals. As a family, we enjoy walks to local parks, trips to the beach, gardening and playing ball. Pets are welcome inside and will be treated with love and respect. I own a small business and work from home.

I have 30+ years of looking after all kinds of animals. We foster puppies through a South Australian rescue group and have a soft spot for elderly dogs. We have 15+ years of dog sitting/hosting experience.

We love dogs of all breeds but have particular breed experience with Terriers (Aussie, Jack Russell, Tenterfield, Staffordshire, Boston, Maltese just to name a few), Kelpies, Golden Retrievers and Labs, Chihuahuas, Spaniels, Whippets, Greyhounds and Wolfhounds, and all kinds of Oodles. We love Mutts and mixed breeds, like our boy! We have had experience with crate training puppies overnight and when we leave the house for short periods of time.

We welcome non-aggressive, well-socialised, non-destructive dogs who enjoy the company of young children and walk happily on a lead. If you are unsure whether your dog will be happy living with children, or your dog hasn’t met children regularly or lived with children before, I will be unable to accept the booking.

Due to the height of our front fencing (standard 1.2m) we are also unable to look after dogs who jump high fences, escape artists or dogs who enjoy digging.

In terms of other pets - we have experience with many types of birds, fish, turtles, axolotls, Guinea pigs, rabbits, rats and mice. Due to allergies, we can't take cats.

I am a Medical Scientist by training and am calm and dependable in an emergency. I have experience giving pets medication - tablets, ear and eye medication, and prescription diets.
...
/static/icons/success.svg
Children at home
/static/icons/success.svg
Owns pets
Pets Accepted
Small Dog
Medium Dog
Large Dog
Giant Dog
Puppy
Cat
Bird
Rabbit /
Guinea Pig
Lara's Home
/static/icons/success.svg
Type: House
/static/icons/success.svg
Large backyard
/static/icons/success.svg
Fenced backyard
/static/icons/success.svg
Household
/static/icons/success.svg
Pets sleep indoors
/static/icons/success.svg
Pets sleep outdoors
Policy
/static/icons/success.svg
Cancellation: Moderate
A full refund will be offered to Pet Owners if they cancel up until 7 days before the booking at 12 noon. After which Pet Owners will be charged 50% of the total booking value.
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts last-minute bookings
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts long-term bookings
Reviews & Testimonials
2 reviews
Janey B.
Pet Hosting - Jul 24, 2022
Thanks so much to Lara & family for looking after our girl for 2 weeks. It was so reassuring to know that she was in excellent hands while we were away. Lara is very a v experienced dog owner, carer and sitter. I would highly recommend her to anyone else. X
Mike S.
Pet Hosting - Jul 4, 2022
Lara made every effort to accommodate our puppy at short notice. Communication was great and she was very accommodating for his needs.
Service & Rates
Overnight Pet Services
Pet Hosting
At Sitter's Home
$ 55 / night
Pet Sitting
At Pet's Home
not offered
Daytime Pet Services
Pet Day Care
$ 55 / day
House Visiting
$ 44 / visit
Dog Walking
not offered
Dog Grooming
not offered
Dog Training
not offered
Transport
Pick Up - Drop Off
$ 10 / journey
Emergency
Transport
Available