Sharon

Sharon D.

Vet student/nurse/certificate
Administering medication
Identity Verification
Online Training
Police Check
Bronze

Burleigh-based veterinary nurse with a passion for all animals

5 repeat guests
19 reviews
Response rate: 100%
Last seen 1 month ago
About Sharon
I'm a veterinary nurse and experienced house sitter who adores meeting new animal friends. One of my specialities is caring for animals who need a deeper sense of understanding and presence to feel happy and peaceful. People often book me to look after rescue dogs and other animal folk who've had a rough time with humans. While studying veterinary nursing I worked at a canine rehabilitation centre, so I've learned to deal with an interesting range of doggy personalities and dynamics.

As much as I'm a devoted dog lover, my heart is open to animals of all shapes, sizes and species - from the most petulant pig to the happiest horse. I've single-handedly helped a cow to deliver her calf (hello, little Astro!), and I often care for a friend's Boa constrictor (howdy, Jessie!).

My dream is to open an animal sanctuary in the Gold Coast hinterland. I have a PhD in Writing, so I'm saving for this future haven of happiness and kindness by working as a copyeditor and proofreader. This means my day job is transportable! If you hire me to housesit, you can rest assured all animals in my care will have plenty of company - as well as regular play sessions, engaging photo shoots, and two walks a day for pupparoonies (depending on each poppet's energy levels, of course, and with no added charge for these activities).

I'm currently living in an apartment where only pre-approved animals are allowed, so I'm unable to advertise dog-sitting in my own home. I do, however, have four years of extensive housesitting experience (as well as hundreds of kilometres of professional dog-walking adventures under my belt), so I'm excited to offer these services to a range of new and existing clients.

Since I was born I've shared my life with a large family of animals ... from Sally the Cocker Spaniel and Jaffa the Eastern long-necked turtle, to Gemini the Welsh Mountain Pony and Zeus the Harlequin Great Dane. All animals are my friends, whether feathered, furred or finned, and I look forward to the privilege of getting to know all the future individuals who'll be entrusted to my care.
...
/static/icons/fail.svg
Owns pets
/static/icons/success.svg
Police Check
/static/icons/success.svg
First Aid Certificate
Pets Accepted
Small Dog
Medium Dog
Large Dog
Giant Dog
Puppy
Cat
Bird
Rabbit /
Guinea Pig
Sharon's Home
/static/icons/success.svg
Type: House
/static/icons/success.svg
Large backyard
/static/icons/success.svg
Fenced backyard
/static/icons/fail.svg
Household
/static/icons/success.svg
Pets sleep indoors
/static/icons/fail.svg
Pets sleep outdoors
Policy
/static/icons/success.svg
Cancellation: Moderate
A full refund will be offered to Pet Owners if they cancel up until 7 days before the booking at 12 noon. After which Pet Owners will be charged 50% of the total booking value.
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts last-minute bookings
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts long-term bookings
Reviews & Testimonials
19 reviews
Helen B.
Dog Walking - Mar 26, 2020
One happy dog after being well looked after and taken for his walks
Shannon D.
Dog Walking - Mar 22, 2020
Amazing! So glad we found someone we can trust to leave our fur kids with.
Helen B.
Dog Walking - Mar 19, 2020
Thanks for taking such good care of Jasper
Annie A.
Pet Sitting - Mar 17, 2020
As always, Sharon looked after Dexter and our house so well. We know Dexter loves hanging out with her as he is always smiling in the photos Sharon takes. Thanks again for making it so easy to leave our pup behind.
Service & Rates
Overnight Pet Services
Pet Hosting
At Sitter's Home
not offered
Pet Sitting
At Pet's Home
$ 59 / night
Daytime Pet Services
Pet Day Care
$ 49 / day
House Visiting
$ 33 / visit
Dog Walking
$ 27 / walk
Dog Grooming
not offered
Dog Training
not offered
Transport
Pick Up - Drop Off
$ 10 / journey
Emergency
Transport
Available