Mavis

Mavis R.

Identity Verification
Police Check
Online Training
Administering medication
Bronze
Advanced Sitter Course
Christmas Badge

Deep affection for animals; reliable, experienced (farm upbringing), from Gisborne

3 repeat guests
18 reviews
Accepts Repeat Weekly Bookings for:
Dog Walking, House Visiting
Response rate: 100%
Last seen 2 days ago
About Mavis
Hi, I’m Mave and I cover part of the Macedon Ranges - Gisborne, Macedon, Mt Macedon & Woodend. I grew up on a farm caring for all sorts of animals - cats, dogs, chickens, pet rabbits, guinea pigs, sheep, cows, horses (beautiful Clydesdales!) and even pet mice! This has given me a lifelong love of animals, big and small.

I have spent my whole life with a pet of some sort! I have always had a cat - 6 on the farm growing up and when I married we had Mollie and Max, then George and Chloe and now Lily. All had very different personalities, some loved lots of cuddles and play, some like Chloe - a rescue cat - needed extra patience and lots of love to bring her around. Gypsy the kelpie dog was my best buddy (along with my ponies Smokey and Penny) & as a teenager they came with me on weekends to stay at my friends. Gypsy had a beautiful nature, and our family really missed her when she passed away - I would have her back in a heartbeat. When the children came along we added a little Pomeranian cross called Snapper who loved to sit on our laps watching TV, rides in the car to pick up our son from Kinder ( I don't know who was more excited - Snapper or Ben!) and always came with me to pick up the kids from school - everyone loved him! We also had a minature rabbit called Bugsy, 2 guinea pigs Doris and Delilah and a dozen Isa Brown chooks.

2019 - After working in First Aid/Administration in schools I am finding I am drawn back to my sister's farm and the animals. Besides having Lily, I regularly catch up with her little dogs Minnie and Koby, the Clydesdales and their foals.

Living on a farm taught me how to ‘read’ animals and pick up when they are happy, stressed or unwell, and when to call a vet. Their health & well being depends on this - a happy and healthy pet means a happy family!

I love being around animals, they are such great companions. A home without a pet is not for me, they are part of my family. We have downsized to a unit so now I just have an adorable cat called Lily and I love spending time cuddling, and playing with her. She also helps me with cooking and making the bed!

I have chosen to join MadPaws because Lily came from a rescue society and I could see the need for Home Visits. I work from home so I am flexible and can reliably spend time with your pet, play, give cuddles and send lots of photos daily to ease any anxiety you may have about being away from your precious member of your family! I would love to get to know yours - cats, small dogs, rabbits, guinea pigs & birds!
...
/static/icons/success.svg
Owns pets
/static/icons/success.svg
Police Check
Pets Accepted
Small Dog
Medium Dog
Large Dog
Giant Dog
Puppy
Cat
Bird
Rabbit /
Guinea Pig
Mavis's Home
/static/icons/fail.svg
Fenced backyard
/static/icons/fail.svg
Household
/static/icons/fail.svg
Pets sleep indoors
/static/icons/fail.svg
Pets sleep outdoors
Policy
/static/icons/success.svg
Cancellation: Flexible
A full refund will be offered to Pet Owners if they cancel up until the day before the booking at 12 noon. After which Pet Owners will be charged 50% of the total booking value.
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts last-minute bookings
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts long-term bookings
Residential Pets
Lily
2 years old
Tabby
/static/icons/success.svg
Good with Children
/static/icons/success.svg
Good with Children
Reviews & Testimonials
18 reviews
Stephanie S.
House Visiting - Jan 17, 2021
Our little ones adore having Mavis visit them, and she takes every care to ensure they're well looked after. Thank you again!
Stephen S.
House Visiting - Jan 4, 2021
Went above and beyond in the care of our pets
Henni w.
House Visiting - Dec 31, 2020
Mavis took really good care of our pets and we would definately recommend her to others. She kept us updated with daily photos which was so lovely and reassured us our pets were being well cared for.
Stephen S.
House Visiting - Nov 20, 2020
Fantastic sitter, sends great updates and photos and reliably provides quality service
Service & Rates
Overnight Pet Services
Pet Hosting
At Sitter's Home
not offered
Pet Sitting
At Pet's Home
not offered
Daytime Pet Services
Pet Day Care
not offered
House Visiting
$ 27 / visit
Dog Walking
$ 17 / walk
Dog Grooming
not offered
Dog Training
not offered
Transport
Pick Up - Drop Off
not offered
Emergency
Transport
Available