Eboni

Eboni W.

Identity Verification
Online Training
Fenced garden
Advanced Sitter Course
Fully Vaccinated
Christmas Badge

Loving, reliable and experienced sitter in ACT & QBN

2 repeat guests
9 reviews
Accepts Repeat Weekly Bookings for:
House Visiting, Pet Day Care
Response rate: 98%
Last seen 20 hours ago
About Eboni
Hi, there! My name is Eboni and I’m a bona fide animal lover. From those with fur to those with scales, I am passionate about animal welfare and want to ensure that every individual is receiving quality of life.

Currently, I am a PhD (archaeology) candidate at the ANU, specialising in zooarchaeology (the study of animal - including human - remains). I also work part-time as a consulting archaeologist within Australia with a focus on Aboriginal archaeology, though my academic research takes me to all regions of the globe.

My household consists of myself, my partner and our adorable cats, Vor and Tyr. I adopted Vor when he was 10 weeks old, and have had the absolute pleasure of watching him grow into an amazing cat who is full of personality. My partner and I rescued Tyr in July 2020, so his exact age is unknown, though the vet estimates him to be about a year older than Vor. However, his incredibly playful and cuddly personality would make you think otherwise.

I became a pet sitter in 2018 simply because I love being surrounded by pets. Ever since I was a young girl, I have had an affinity with animals. I mean, which child doesn’t dream of “working with animals” when they grow up? As I grew older I continued to learn as much about all kinds of animals as I possibly could. During my third year of uni, I went to the Cambodian forest for a month to observe the behavioural ecology of several monkey species and gibbons (the 'lesser' ape). As I progressed in to my masters and PhD, I specialised in zooarchaeology, the study of animal (including human) remains. I strongly believe that human animal and non-human animals share this Earth and we must work together in order to allow all species to flourish.

To support myself through university, I worked as a dispensary technician at Chemist Warehouse. In order to become a dispensary technician, I was required to obtain a Certificate III in Community Pharmacy. This course had several modules pertaining to pet care. I am confident in diagnosing and prescribing minor conditions (hay fever, eczema, superficial cuts and scrapes, etc), as well as administering any oral or topical medications.

One of my majors during my bachelor’s degree was biological anthropology, in which I focused heavily on animal behavioural ecology. While primarily centred around primates and other mammals, a major in biological anthropology has allowed me to confidently assess vocalisations and body language in non-human species, and the knowledge learned has proved invaluable in many situations, as well as allowing me to ensure each creature I care for is receiving quality of life.

As an archaeologist, I am required to travel for fieldwork. However, once excavations have been competed and it's time for the report writing, I work from my home office. This means that when I am in Canberra, I am at home most of the time and therefore have an ample amount of time to spend with your beloved pets. Please see below for a detailed description of the services I provide.

*PLEASE NOTE: due to the conditions of my lease and my two cats, I am UNABLE TO HOST ANY DOGS AT MY HOUSE for home boarding or day care.*

*PLEASE NOTE: only vaccinated pets and pets up-to-date with their worming and flea medication will be accepted into my house for home boarding and day care.*

Pet Sitting Services
Day Care and Home Boarding:
Pets left at my house for day care and home boarding will receive optimal care and plenty of attention. The house can be divided into separated sections, if required, and the back yard is fully fenced with an additional stand-alone cat enclosure. All pets will be kept inside unless permission is given to take them out during the day (with constant supervision), and all pets will be kept inside of a night.
*PLEASE NOTE: I CANNOT ACCEPT ANY DOGS for day care or home boarding due to the conditions of my lease and my two cats.*

Home visits:
Home visits are generally up to an hour long and include dog walking, if applicable. Every home visit includes feeding, ensuring that the pet has water, playing, cleaning of litter trays/pens/cages, etc. Upon request, I am also happy to do small household tasks, such as watering the garden, putting the bins out or collecting the mail.
...
/static/icons/fail.svg
Children at home
/static/icons/success.svg
Owns pets
Pets Accepted
Small Dog
Medium Dog
Large Dog
Giant Dog
Puppy
Cat
Bird
Rabbit /
Guinea Pig
Eboni's Home
/static/icons/success.svg
Type: House
/static/icons/success.svg
Medium backyard
/static/icons/success.svg
Fenced backyard
/static/icons/success.svg
Household
/static/icons/success.svg
Pets sleep indoors
/static/icons/fail.svg
Pets sleep outdoors
Policy
/static/icons/success.svg
Cancellation: Flexible
A full refund will be offered to Pet Owners if they cancel up until the day before the booking at 12 noon. After which Pet Owners will be charged 50% of the total booking value.
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts last-minute bookings
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts long-term bookings
Reviews & Testimonials
9 reviews
Imogen G.
Pet Hosting - Apr 5, 2021
My cats love their stays at Eboni’s house so much, they hide under her couch when it’s time for pick up. I feel so relaxed knowing I can leave our not-so-fu babies with Eboni and they will be dotted on and taking care of so well. I’ll trust no one else with my cats!! Thanks again Eboni!!
Imogen G.
Pet Hosting - Jan 31, 2021
Eboni made our time away even better by looking after our cats. Lovely photos accompanied by daily sweet messages allowed us to relax and put us at ease that they were not only being well looked after, but loved on too. I fully trust Eboni with our babies and will only be using her in the future! Thanks so much Eboni!
David J.
Pet Sitting - Mar 22, 2020
Eboni was eady going responsive and kept us updated about how things were going. The house was clean and tidy on our teturn.
Georgia H.
Pet Hosting - Jan 7, 2020
Eboni was fantastic! Iris had a wonderful time and looked very happy in all the pics I received. Would 100% recommend and will definitely come back :)
Service & Rates
Overnight Pet Services
Pet Hosting
At Sitter's Home
$ 43 / night
Pet Sitting
At Pet's Home
not offered
Daytime Pet Services
Pet Day Care
$ 33 / day
House Visiting
$ 38 / visit
Dog Walking
not offered
Dog Grooming
not offered
Dog Training
not offered
Transport
Pick Up - Drop Off
$ 10 / journey
Emergency
Transport
Available