Sophia V.

Identity Verification
Online Training

PhD Student (& her hound) working from pet-friendly home

1 repeat guest
4 reviews
Accepts Repeat Weekly Bookings for:
Pet Day Care
Response rate: 100%
Last seen 3 hours ago
About Sophia
Hi. I’m a 31 year old PhD student at UTAS Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies. I grew up with pets and followed this passion into a marine ecology career. I studied marine biology which also involved training in animal physiology. I have a strong passion for nature and wildlife photography so you may benefit from some curated pictures of your pet (instagram: @sophtopaws)!
My 3-year research project is desk based and I spend a lot of time working from home. Our dog benefits from the extra attention and loves running circles around our fenced yard during the daytime. He is an excited and active hound with lots of playful energy.

I am looking to welcome your pet into my home and hope to take care of it while being there to attend.
We have a large fenced in garden, plenty of space for zoomies and two spare rooms for building a cosy safe space. There is also a dog park down the street and our property opens (via fence) to a small private beach. Walking opportunities aplenty!
We live close to the airport and on the route towards Tassies popular East Coast, about 30mins from Hobart by car.

I am open to overnight stays or long term sitting if our pets get along. My dog sleeps in his crate in the living room but is otherwise allowed to roam and spread out on the couch during the day.
If you have a bird or otherwise cage-homed animal I would ensure to have their cage in our lockable guest room for safety. We also have flyscreens on key doors and windows to ensure a safe indoor environment. No doggy door but I am highly attentive and always ensure to give dogs many opportunities for outdoor time. If your pet goes out on lead in the dark before bedtime, then we will too!

I will provide highly personalised service for your pet. Our own dog was quite the handful when he was younger and still is super excitable, which can be perceived as overbearing. I am happy to handle young excited pups, large hounds and active working dogs.
I have previously owned and cared for cats and birds and have received basic undergrad training in animal biology. Through my studies, I also have gained expert knowledge in wildlife ecology and received field training in the handling of wild animals. This makes me feel in tune with the behavioural cues and boundaries of any living creature.
Children at home
Owns pets
Pets Accepted
Small Dog
Medium Dog
Large Dog
Giant Dog
Rabbit /
Guinea Pig
Sophia's Home
Type: House
Large backyard
Fenced backyard
Pets sleep indoors
Pets sleep outdoors
Cancellation: Flexible
A full refund will be offered to Pet Owners if they cancel up until the day before the booking at 12 noon. After which Pet Owners will be charged 50% of the total booking value.
Accepts last-minute bookings
Accepts long-term bookings
Reviews & Testimonials
4 reviews
Karen D.
Pet Hosting - Jul 24, 2022
Sophia was amazing with looking after our whippet - loads of photos & videos to see whilst we were away & easy communication. We will definitely use Sophia again!
Nicole G.
Pet Hosting - Jun 25, 2022
My dogs didn’t really to leave their holiday camp with Sophia and Boris! Will book them in again soon! :)
Addriey J.
Pet Hosting - Apr 20, 2022
Sofia is a really lovely and accomodating sitter. I was so worried about leaving my doggo with a stranger but she went above and beyond - from a preliminary meet with our dogs to sending photos/setting up an Instagram account to even ensuring we were okay with overlapping bookings other dogs. I felt guilt free leaving my dog for a holiday. Definitely recommended over a kennel! Thank you Sofia 💖
Thomas S.
Pet Hosting - Apr 15, 2022
Sophia and boris were incredible, 10/10!
Service & Rates
Overnight Pet Services
Pet Hosting
At Sitter's Home
$ 48 / night
Pet Sitting
At Pet's Home
not offered
Daytime Pet Services
Pet Day Care
$ 39 / day
House Visiting
not offered
Dog Walking
not offered
Dog Grooming
not offered
Dog Training
not offered
Pick Up - Drop Off
not offered