Fiona

Fiona C.

Identity Verification
Online Training
Administering medication
Vet student/nurse/certificate
Police Check
Fenced garden
Rising Star

Honest, caring and reliable sitter who adores dogs!

8 repeat guests
28 reviews
Response rate: 100%
Last seen 1 hour ago
About Fiona
*Please note: I try to only take pets from one household at a time (pls read at the end). Also, taking covid precautions, and free cancellation due to covid.
I have 35 years of experience looking after dogs - small to large! I have always been a dog person! I had several dogs growing up and they were always a huge part of my life. I have since owed a Labrador, looked after friend's dogs, and the most recent dog I owed was a beautiful golden retriever named Rupert. He sadly had to be put down this year due to poor health. It has left a hole in our hearts and we miss him terribly. He really was like another child to me. Instead of getting another dog at this stage, I have decided to dog sit and provide a loving, safe, calm and caring home to other people's dogs. I was always a bit anxious when leaving my Rupert with others, so I know what it's like. And I want to give people the reassurance that I will look after their dog(s) like they were my own.
I have a lot of free time as I'm studying part time online (Masters Social Work) and I'm only out for short trips, so your beloved pooch will never be left alone for hours on end, and will get lots of attention.

Other:
Not taking any pit bull breeds.
I have a 16 yr old son who also loves dogs and is happy to help play with them.
I have a fully fenced, safe yard.
I can send photos and/or video daily.
Free walk or 2 daily (weather permitting).
I will only feed your dog what you ask me to.
I can administer your dog's medication (as my dog had health issues, I'm used to giving different tablets, ear and eye solutions and skin creams).
Dogs will sleep inside unless they are used to outside and you want them out there, as long as they don't bark during the night.
If it's a long stay, a free one night trial.

I am only providing the service of dog sitting at my house so I can focus more on individual pets. If your dog is staying with me and you have another dog or two, I can look after them each at the additional pet fee of $12. If the other dog is a puppy, this is the only time I will take puppies, but there will be an additional $3 surcharge. Also, If I'm looking after your dog(s) at my house, I will happily also look after any birds or guinea pigs/rabbits you may have (price negotiable). I have past experience with chooks, parrots, budgies, rabbits, and guinea pigs! We don't currently have any other pets at home - which means full attention will be given to yours.

For further peace of mind, I have a police clearance, DCSI screenings and references.
I also have a Pet First Aid Certificate through Pet Professionals Australia, covering: Bites and Stings, Bleeding and Shock, Bloat, Choking and Poisons, Heat Stroke (particularly with Brachycephalic breeds) and Dehydration, Wounds, CPR and Transporting.

Backyard: Although my backyard is classed as small-medium, your dog(s) will get lots of exercise. We will happily throw balls etc in the yard and, as mentioned above, I offer a free (on leash) walk or two per day if weather permits (I love walking!). This of course depends on the breed and age of the dog. I don't tend to take dogs to dog parks as I can't guarantee the safety of your dog, but this is something you can discuss with me.

Only taking dogs that are: desexed (unless too young), socialised (at least with people), toilet trained, hopefully up to date with vaccinations, hopefully de-wormed, and no signs of fleas (had to de-flea my whole house once - wasn't much fun!).

Experience to date with these breeds:
Golden Retriever
Labrador
Cavoodle
Spoodle
Labradooble
Jack Russell
Border Collie
Red Heeler
Cocker Spaniel
Bichon Frise x Shih Tzu
Staffy x (various)
Mini Duchshand
German Shepherd
Chihuahua

Please bring:
Pet food and bowl. (I have a few water bowls)
Beds - I have a few, but your dog might prefer their own.
Toys or anything else that might make your pet more comfortable.
Lead.
Medication.

I think I've covered it all! If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask. I look forward to hearing from you and hope you feel relaxed and comfortable leaving your fur baby/babies with me 😊

* One household at a time:
I prefer to focus solely on your dog(s) and any other pets you have eg. rabbit, bird. Some dogs only like to be on their own with me etc, or an owner may prefer for me to only have their pet(s)....and this way, I can give them the best care. The only exception to this will be if both owners agree...pls message me about it.

*Covid precautions to keep everyone safe (in-line with MadPaws):
I will be honest if I am feeling unwell and I need to cancel.
Bookings can't be taken within 14 days of overseas travel.
Hand sanitiser provided at the door.
I can do contactless pick ups/drop offs where possible.
...
/static/icons/fail.svg
Children at home
/static/icons/fail.svg
Owns pets
/static/icons/success.svg
Police Check
/static/icons/success.svg
First Aid Certificate
Pets Accepted
Small Dog
Medium Dog
Large Dog
Giant Dog
Puppy
Cat
Bird
Rabbit /
Guinea Pig
Fiona's Home
/static/icons/success.svg
Type: House
/static/icons/success.svg
Small backyard
/static/icons/success.svg
Fenced backyard
/static/icons/success.svg
Household
/static/icons/success.svg
Pets sleep indoors
/static/icons/success.svg
Pets sleep outdoors
Policy
/static/icons/success.svg
Cancellation: Flexible
A full refund will be offered to Pet Owners if they cancel up until the day before the booking at 12 noon. After which Pet Owners will be charged 50% of the total booking value.
/static/icons/success.svg
Accepts last-minute bookings
/static/icons/fail.svg
Accepts long-term bookings
Reviews & Testimonials
28 reviews
Glenn M.
Pet Hosting - Sep 3, 2021
Again he was so well looked after, so happy we have found Fiona, makes leaving him a tad easier.…
Nata A.
Pet Hosting - May 22, 2021
Hi Fiona, Thank you for a pawsome time! Love Summit xx…
Thuy V.
Pet Hosting - Mar 23, 2021
Best sitter ever, Louis never wants to go home …
Carolyn H.
Pet Hosting - Mar 22, 2021
Fiona was fantastic all the way through from Enquiry to picking Alfie up. He had such a great time and slept the whole day after he got picked up. …
Service & Rates
Overnight Pet Services
Pet Hosting
At Sitter's Home
$ 45 / night
Pet Sitting
At Pet's Home
not offered
Daytime Pet Services
Pet Day Care
not offered
House Visiting
not offered
Dog Walking
not offered
Dog Grooming
not offered
Dog Training
not offered
Transport
Pick Up - Drop Off
$ 10 / journey
Emergency
Transport
Available