Eboni W.

Identity Verification
Online Training
Fenced garden
Christmas Badge

Loving, reliable, experienced and enthusiastic sitter in ACT

3 reviews
Response rate: 100%
Last seen 4 days ago
About Eboni
Hi, there! My name is Eboni and I’m a bona fide animal lover. From those with fur to those with scales, I am passionate about animal welfare and want to ensure that every individual is receiving quality of life. I am an archaeologist with a specialisation in zooarchaeology, human skeletal remains and forensics.
I have recently graduated from my Advanced Master of the Archaeological and Evolutionary Science and intend to commence my PhD in zooarchaeology in 2020. I currently work as a consulting archaeologist within Australia, though my academic research takes me to all regions of the globe. I also conduct tutoring for English, Japanese, German, Bislama, French and Spanish, and general academic writing and editing.
My household consists of myself and my adorable cat, Vor. Vor is an incredibly loving, placid and social tabby, born in April 2018.

I became a pet sitter because I love being surrounded by pets. Ever since I was a young girl, I have had an affinity with animals. I mean, which child doesn’t dream of “working with animals” when they grow up? As I grew older I continued to learn as much about all kinds of animals as I possibly could. During my third year of uni, I went to the Cambodian forest for a month to observe the behavioural ecology of monkeys and gibbons. As I progressed in to my masters, I specialised in zooarchaeology, the study of animal remains. I believe that humans and non-humans are connected in so many unfathomable ways and that we can positively influence each other through many different actions.
My job requires me to travel to excavation locations, meaning that I am rarely working when I’m in Canberra. Rather, when I am home, I am generally catching up on report writing and publications, as well as conducting face-to-face tutorials, which can all be done in my home office. Having pets around, I find, encourages me to get out and explore our beautiful city. More than anything, though, I just adore meeting all the beautiful personalities there are in this world.

Pets have been a part of my life since literally the day I was born. My parents got me a miniature Foxy x mini Jack Russell puppy, Tessa. She was with me until my 10th birthday, when she was devastatingly bitten by a brown snake. A short while after Tessa’s departure, our family adopted a 4-year-old cattle dog x Doberman, Port, and a black Bombay kitten, Jet, from the RSPCA. Port, Jet and I shared a very special bond and they will forever hold a place in my heart. Port was unfortunately put down at 15 years of age, the same week that I moved out of home. My poor Dad’s heart was hurting that week. Jet died of old age, heartbreakingly on my 19th birthday. I adopted my first kitten since moving out of home in mid-2018, Vor.
While not professional experience, I have been pet sitting for my friends and family since I moved to Canberra in 2014. I decided to join Pawshake in August 2018 after one of my employers introduced me to the website. So far, I have had the pleasure of looking after dogs, cats, birds, chickens, fish, rabbits and turtles. I am now expanding my services on to the Mad Paws platform in order to meet more new furry friends.
To support myself through university, I worked as a pharmacy assistant and dispensary technician at Chemist Warehouse. In order to become a dispensary technician, I was required to obtain a Certificate III in Community Pharmacy. This course had several modules pertaining to pet care. I am confident in diagnosing and prescribing minor conditions (hay fever, eczema, superficial cuts and scrapes, etc), as well as administering any oral or topical medications.
One of my majors during my bachelor’s degree was biological anthropology, in which I focused heavily on animal behavioural ecology. While primarily centred around primates and other mammals, a major in biological anthropology has allowed me to confidently assess vocalisations and body language, and the knowledge learned has proved invaluable in many situations with a range of different pet species.

Pet Sitting Services:
Dog walking: Dog walks can range from a 30-minute stroll around the block to a 1.5 hour hike up Mount Ainslie, depending on the needs of the dog. As an archaeologist, it is a necessity for me to be physically fit, so I am capable of taking dogs on longer walks in more trying terrain. I know of many off-leash areas, dog parks and safe swimming spots that I am happy to explore with my new furry friends. I also have a car, so I am capable of collecting and returning my four-legged friends.
Doggy day care: As a rule, I only offer doggy day care on the days that I have no other commitments, in order to ensure that your dog is receiving the optimum amount of love, attention and exercise. A typical day in doggy day care includes a walk of up to one hour in length and endless amounts of play. I generally only take up to three dogs per day, as trying to walk any additional dogs has proved a Herculean task!
Home dog boarding: I am happy to look after all breeds of dogs at any age! I will not accept dogs that have not been vaccinated – sorry! Dogs will be free to choose for themselves whether they would prefer to be outside or inside, but they are as welcome in my house as any other guest. All dogs that sleep over will sleep inside, as I feel cruel leaving them to suffer through the elements during the cold, bitter, Canberra nights. Provided that I can trust the dog(s) and my cat to get along during the night, I generally set up the dog beds in our bedroom. Otherwise, in order to give everyone peace-of-mind during the night, the dogs generally sleep in the living room while Vor sleeps in the bedroom. Dog owners will need to bring their dog’s food with them, as well as their food bowl, leash, and any necessary medications. Dog owners may also decide to bring their dog’s toys, blankets and bed, if they feel that their fur baby will be more comfortable during their stay with such items.
House visits: House visits are at least one hour long and generally run no longer than two hours. Every home visit includes feeding, ensuring that the pet has water, playing, and cleaning of litter trays, pens, etc. Upon request, I am also happy to do small household tasks, such as watering the garden, putting the bins out and collecting the bins, or anything else that home owners may require.
Children at home
Owns pets
Pets Accepted
Small Dog
Medium Dog
Large Dog
Giant Dog
Rabbit /
Guinea Pig
Eboni's Home
Type: Apartment
No outdoor area
Fenced backyard
Pets sleep indoors
Pets sleep outdoors
Cancellation: Flexible
A full refund will be offered to Pet Owners if they cancel up until the day before the booking at 12 noon. After which Pet Owners will be charged 50% of the total booking value.
Accepts last-minute bookings
Accepts long-term bookings
Residential Pets
1 year old
Domestic Short Hair , Tabby
Good with Dogs
Good with Cats
Good with Dogs
Good with Cats
Reviews & Testimonials
repeat0 repeat stays
3 reviews
molly b.
Pet Sitting - Sep 30, 2019
Thankyou very eboni, koba can be quite a challenging dog but very thankful we found eboni! We know koba loved it!
Roland M.
Pet Hosting - Aug 17, 2019
Potato really enjoyed her stay and met a strange new thing called a cat! Best buds apparently. Thanks Eboni
Helen S.
Pet Hosting - Jul 21, 2019
Our 2 small dogs spent 2 weeks with Eboni while we were overseas. She was very caring and sent regular photos of what they were up to. Prior to the booking, Eboni was easy to communicate with and responded quickly to our querie
Rebecca H.
Mar 24, 2019
To Whom It May Concern: As a frequent canine visitor to Eboni’s house, I feel I am uniquely qualified to recommend her pet-caring abilities. My humans often leave me and my fellow dog friends at Eboni’s house for a weekend or holiday while they go out of town. Rather than spending our time sad about being abandoned, we are kept stimulated, spoiled, exercised, and snuggled. Eboni makes us special snacks (carrot and peanut butter, steamed broccoli, etc.), she throws the ball for me, she gives me a spot on her bed, and she walks me every day. I can get snippy about food around my friends, so Eboni makes sure we’re fed separately and given our own space. She takes detailed notes on what we did, what we ate, and our emotional state to better report back to our humans – she also sends pictures of us all tucked in at night to our humans to put their mind at ease. Eboni doesn’t just tolerate me and my friends; she relishes the chance to get to know us better, as individuals. She doesn’t treat us like an obligation; she treats us like friends. This is the main thing that I appreciate about Eboni’s caretaking: she actually likes being around us. This means that when we get picked up by our humans, Eboni reports on how her life has been enriched by making our lives enriched. If anyone has any questions about Eboni’s dedication, caretaking skills, or appreciation for pets, they are welcome to contact my human who would be happy to vouch for her. In the meantime, I’m going to demand some cuddles. Sincerely, Erignathus barabouts, as dictated to Dr Rebecca Hendershott
Service & Rates
Overnight Pet Services
Pet Hosting
At Sitter's Home
$ 42 / night
Pet Sitting
At Pet's Home
$ 42 / night
Daytime Pet Services
Pet Day Care
$ 32 / day
House Visiting
$ 42 / visit
Dog Walking
$ 32 / walk
Dog Grooming
not offered
Dog Training
not offered
Pick Up - Drop Off
$ 10 / journey